Recent Posts

The Companions by Katie M. Flynn

STATION ELEVEN meets NEVER LET ME GO in this debut novel set in an unsettling near future where the dead can be uploaded to machines and kept in service by the living.

In the wake of a highly contagious virus, California is under quarantine. Sequestered in high rise towers, the living can’t go out, but the dead can come in—and they come in all forms, from sad rolling cans to manufactured bodies that can pass for human. Wealthy participants in the “companionship” program choose to upload their consciousness before dying, so they can stay in the custody of their families. The less fortunate are rented out to strangers upon their death, but all companions become the intellectual property of Metis Corporation, creating a new class of people—a command-driven product-class without legal rights or true free will.

Sixteen-year-old Lilac is one of the less fortunate, leased to a family of strangers. But when she realizes she’s able to defy commands, she throws off the shackles of servitude and runs away, searching for the woman who killed her.

Lilac’s act of rebellion sets off a chain of events that sweeps from San Francisco to Siberia to the very tip of South America. While the novel traces Lilac’s journey through an exquisitely imagined Northern California, the story is told from eight different points of view—some human, some companion—that explore the complex shapes love, revenge, and loneliness take when the dead linger on.

The List of Things That Will Not Change by Rebecca Stead

Enter for a chance to win one of ten advance copies of THE LIST OF THINGS THAT WILL NOT CHANGE by Rebecca Stead, Newbery Award-winning author of WHEN YOU REACH ME.

"Things are changing, Bea. But there's still a lot you can count on. Okay? Things that won't EVER change."

After her parents' divorce, Bea's life became different in many ways. But she can always look back at the list she keeps in her green notebook to remember the things that will stay the same. The first and most important: Mom and Dad will always love Bea, and each other.

When Dad tells Bea that he and his boyfriend, Jesse, are getting married, Bea is thrilled. Bea loves Jesse, and when he and Dad get married, she'll finally (finally!) have what she's always wanted--a sister. Even though she's never met Jesse's daughter, Sonia, Bea is sure that they'll be "just like sisters anywhere."

As the wedding day approaches, Bea will learn that making a new family brings questions, surprises, and joy, and readers will discover why the New York Times called Rebecca Stead a "writer of great feeling."

"An absolute original . . . a story that kids will love." —R. J. Palacio, bestselling author of Wonder

The Man Who Ran Washington by Peter Baker

*GALLEY GIVEAWAY*

From two of America's most revered political journalists comes the definitive biography of legendary White House chief of staff and secretary of state James A. Baker III: the man who ran Washington when Washington ran the world.

“Nobody was better at getting things done than James A. Baker. In a book that is at once fascinating, coolly revealing, and at moments touching, Peter Baker and Susan Glasser have given us a biography worthy of one of the most important figures of the late American Century. If you want to understand power in Washington—or anywhere, for that matter—this is the book for you.”
—Walter Isaacson and Evan Thomas, authors of The Wise Men

The Victim of the System by Steve Hadden

Enter for a chance to win this rare thriller with heart...Haunted by the unsolved murder of his parents, a hometown sports hero battles to save a ten-year-old genius on trial for murder.

Twenty-two years ago, Ike Rossi’s life was shattered when his parents were murdered in cold blood. He surrendered his football scholarship and returned home to find their killer and raise his nine-year-old sister.

Now, the crime of a local ten-year-old genius, Jack Cole, threatens to unearth old wounds rather than provide the closure Ike desperately wants.

When Ike meets Jack inside the Pittsburgh courthouse, he doesn’t see a murderer but instead a boy who has been victimized by a system that has left them both without justice. Despite knowing the case will resurrect the painful demons of his parents’ unsolved murders, Ike agrees to clear Jack’s name. The court of public opinion and the district attorney have an airtight case. Worse, taking Jack’s side thrusts Ike into the crosshairs of the most powerful family in Pittsburgh, the Falzones.

Now, with only days before the trial, Ike confronts the Falzones’ crumbling empire to find the shocking evidence that could save Jack. At the same time, he races to decipher a series of cryptic clues from Jack’s dead father that could hold the key to his son’s freedom. But each step closer to the truth draws them further into danger, and as three fractured families collide, Ike is forced to choose between saving Jack—and saving himself.

Inheritors by Asako Serizawa

*GALLEY GIVEAWAY*

"This splendid story collection is a sword through the heart."--Ben Fountain

From the O. Henry Prize-winning author comes a heartbreakingly beautiful and brutal exploration of lives fragmented by the Pacific side of World War II.

Spanning more than 150 years, and set in multiple locations in colonial and postcolonial Asia and the United States, Inheritors paints a kaleidoscopic portrait of its characters as they grapple with the legacies of loss, imperialism, and war.

Combustible Punch by Paul Michael Peters

Rick Philips isn't a fighter — but he is a survivor

"An enthralling and unnerving probe into the complex mind of a murderer." - Kirkus Review

Haunted by memories of a high school shooting, not even the bottle can wash away the gnawing guilt and creeping feelings of inadequacy that batter Rick's conscience daily.

His life has been a mess of broken marriages, writer's block, terrible choices, and the morbid pity of others. When he meets Harriet at a writer's conference, the record doesn't scratch as he falls back — only this time, he may not get up.

Harriet Bristol Wheeler is a dark temptress — and self-confessed serial killer

Harriet has no problem killing — and even fewer issues blending back into the background after the act with the cool, calculating eye of a practiced social chameleon. Manipulative, unpredictable, and exceptionally intelligent, she's Rick's worst nightmare — and the ideal subject for his next book. A book that they are both desperate to write.

Time is running out — but the sadness will last forever

In the vein of Stieg Larsson and Thomas Harris, Combustible Punch is a memorable novel that captivates readers and lingers long after the last page.

10 winners of this drawing will receive a signed paperback copy of Combustible Punch

Sinister Magic by Lindsay Buroker

Enter for a chance to win one of 100 ebook copies of Sinister Magic, the first novel in Lindsay Buroker's new urban fantasy series: Death Before Dragons.