Recent Posts

Hill Women: Finding Family and a Way Forward in the Appalachian Mountains

After rising from poverty to earn two Ivy League degrees, an Appalachian lawyer pays tribute to the strong hill women who raised and inspired her, and whose values have the potential to rejuvenate a struggling region an uplifting and eye opening memoir for readers of Hillbilly Elegy and Educated.

The Magical Language of Others

The Magical Language of Others is a powerful and aching love story in letters, from mother to daughter After living in America for over a decade, Eun Ji Koh s parents return to South Korea for work, leaving fifteen year old Eun Ji and her brother behind in California Overnight, Eun Ji finds

Children of the Land

This unforgettable memoir from a prize winning poet about growing up undocumented in the United States recounts the sorrows and joys of a family torn apart by draconian policies and chronicles one young man s attempt to build a future in a nation that denies his existence You were not a ghost even

The Art of Resistance

99 year old literature professor Justus Rosenberg escaped the Holocaust and spent four daring years in the French Underground during World War II Now he finally writes his own unforgettable epic A gripping memoir from an Eastern European Jew who fought in the French Resistance The narrative

Imperfect Union: How Jessie and John Frémont Mapped the West, Invented Celebrity, and Helped Cause the Civil War

Steve Inskeep tells the riveting story of John and Jessie Fr mont, the husband and wife team who in the 1800s were instrumental in the westward expansion of the United States, and thus became America s first great political couple In 1813, John Fr mont was born a nobody His mother conceived him out

Building a Life Worth Living: A Memoir

Marsha Linehan tells the story of her journey from suicidal teenager to world renowned developer of the life saving behavioral therapy DBT, using her own struggle to develop life skills for others This book is a victory on both sides of the page Gloria Steinem Are you one of us a patient

Mengele: Unmasking the "Angel of Death"

A gripping account of the infamous Nazi doctor, from a former Justice Department official tasked with uncovering his fate One of the most notorious war criminals of all time, Dr Josef Mengele has come to symbolize both the evil of the Nazi regime and the failure of justice in the postwar world.

Denali: A Man, a Dog, and the Friendship of a Lifetime

The story of a dog, his human, and the friendship that saved both of their lives When Ben Moon moved from the Midwest to Oregon, he hadn t planned on getting a dog But when he first met the soulful gaze of a rescue pup in a shelter, Ben instantly felt a connection, and his friendship with Denali

Motherwell: A Girlhood

Raw, compelling, wise and tender Dolly Alderton Motherwell is razor sharp, fearless and wonderful Adam Kay Utterly unflinching and staggeringly good, both as the history of a woman and the history of a place India Knight Just shy of 18, Deborah Orr left Motherwell the town she both loved and

Gay Like Me: A Father Writes to His Son

In this poignant and urgent love letter to his son, award winning Broadway, TV and film producer Richie Jackson reflects on his experiences as a gay man in America and the progress and setbacks of the LGBTQ community over the last 50 years My son is kind, responsible, and hardworking He is ready

Normal: A Mother and Her Beautiful Son

A moving memoir from the mother of a child with Treacher Collins Syndrome, with a foreword by R.J Palacio, author of Wonder For Magda Newman, normal was a goal she wanted her son Nathaniel to be able to play on the playground, swim at the beach, enjoy the moments of childhood that are often taken

The Oldest Student: How Mary Walker Learned to Read

Imagine learning to read at the age of 116 Discover the true story of Mary Walker, the nation s oldest student who did just that, in this picture book from a Caldecott Honor winning illustrator and a rising star author In 1848, Mary Walker was born into slavery At age 15, she was freed, and by

Square Haunting: Five Women, Freedom and London Between the Wars

I like this London life the street sauntering and square haunting Virginia Woolf, diary, 1925 Mecklenburgh Square, on the radical fringes of interwar Bloomsbury, was home to activists, experimenters and revolutionaries among them were the modernist poet H D., detective novelist Dorothy

Fred's Big Feelings: The Life and Legacy of Mister Rogers

An inspiring picture book biography about the inimitable Fred Rogers, beloved creator and star of Mister Rogers Neighborhood.Fred Rogers was a quiet boy with big feelings Sometimes, he felt scared or lonely at other times, he was playful and joyous But when Fred s feelings felt too big, his

Educated

Tara Westover was 17 the first time she set foot in a classroom Born to survivalists in the mountains of Idaho, she prepared for the end of the world by stockpiling home canned peaches and sleeping with her head for the hills bag In the summer she stewed herbs for her mother, a midwife and

Open Book

Jessica reveals for the first time her inner monologue and most intimate struggles Guided by the journals she s kept since age fifteen, and brimming with her unique humor and down to earth humanity, Open Book is as inspiring as it is entertaining This was supposed to be a very different book Five

Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood

The compelling, inspiring, and comically sublime New York Times bestseller about one man s coming of age, set during the twilight of apartheid and the tumultuous days of freedom that followed Trevor Noah s unlikely path from apartheid South Africa to the desk of The Daily Show began with a criminal

A Very Stable Genius: Donald J. Trump's Testing of America

Rucker and Leonnig have deep and unmatched sources throughout Washington, D.C., and for the past three years have chronicled in depth the ways President Donald Trump has reinvented the presidency in his own image, shaken foreign alliances and tested American institutions It would be all too easy to

Me

In his only official autobiography, music icon Elton John writes about his extraordinary life, which is also the subject of the film Rocketman Christened Reginald Dwight, he was a shy boy with Buddy Holly glasses who grew up in the London suburb of Pinner and dreamed of becoming a pop star By the